Pascal – I really do not know anything about this

GUI?
GUI?

It’s going to take me a lifetime to learn everything about this machine.

We had stacks and stacks of diskettes when I was growing up – I recall that some were ‘borrowed’ from school, others were originals of course, but I was only ever concerned with the contents of a select few.

I’m sure that Pascal sat in that stack somewhere, but damned if I ever used it or paid any attention to it whatsoever.

I understand that Pascal is a programming language for the Apple //e, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten. It looks fascinating enough, quite quick to load, and the example diskette was wrapped in a nice GUI that made learning all about Pascal even easier.

Were there ‘Pascal’ users and ‘BASIC’ users, for instance? As much as there are OS X fanboys today, were there Pascal enthusiasts?

I might just have to try this disk again and work my way through the tutorials. I see no practical use for it today, but I’ll still lose sleep over this ‘lost’ language.

DSC00255_1
Any excuse for another gorgeous //e portrait.
Pascal – I really do not know anything about this

Leave a Reply

